Lodge Reviews

Jumping Trout Lodge TESTIMONIALS 

See what some of our past guests have to say about their stay at Williams Lake Vacation Rentals. The following is a list of Jumping Trout Lodge rental guest reviews.

D D. said Jun 18,2017 Wow! Stunning!

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Such a fabulous location, and the cabin is stunning. The hosts were such a pleasure to meet and chat with, and they were extremely accommodating. Just wish we had more time to stay, and can’t wait to return. The photos don’t do the cabin justice, as it is an extremely special place.

We had such a nice time visiting with you!! We are happy you enjoyed our beautiful Jumping Trout Lodge and Williams Lake. We are very proud of the new kitchen, which which is beautiful as well as efficient for cooking meals. Hope to see you again! Roberta and Tom

Apurva S. said…

Jun 13, 2017

Wonderful Stay, A Gem of a place in Salmon Idaho

Date of Stay Jun 7, 2017

A wonderful property through and through. Tom and Roberta were fantastic hosts and the cabin was absolutely a pleasure to stay during our guys retreat this past week. From the outdoor space to the bedrooms to the kitchen, we really enjoyed staying here. Really well maintained property and gracious hosts. Would highly recommend this place to friends and family in the future.

Monica R. said…

Jun 10, 2017

Best Vacation Ever!!

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay May 28, 2017

Staying at this lakefront cabin is the best vacation ever! The peace and quiet, not to mention the great views take you away to another world. The cabin is fully furnished w/ bed linens and towels and a great new kitchen and a washer and dryer. Especially enjoyed the great deck overlooking the lake. A boat is available to use for fishing or fish right from the dock, kayaks are available and a great firepit at lakeside. Take a short walk around the lake or be adventurous and take a long hike. Be sure to take a day trip to explore Salmon, a cute little town with some interesting shops and restaurants. Be sure to go the Amish store, they have lots of delicious items to buy. This is definitely my go to vacation spot. Great for everyone, families and friends.

Jesse S. said…

Jun 5, 2017

The cabin was Awesome! Peaceful and Relaxing.

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay May 13, 2017

My wife and I had such a wonderful time. The cabin was just perfect! Very clean and well thought out. We could not have asked for a better get away. We can’t wait to come back. 5 stars!

Shari G. said…

May 22, 2017

Amazing vacation in the most beautiful spot!

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay May 4, 2017

My fiancé and I stayed 2 weeks and we could not be more pleased. We fished, hiked, kayaked, canoed, paddle boarded, roasted marshmallows by the fire pit all while enjoying the gorgeous scenic views. I loved they had a washer and dryer, with a full functioning kitchen (which Is brand new and gorgeous by the way) supplied wrh every pot/ pan and utensil anyone could possibly need. The owners (Tom and Roberta) were accommodating and so nice as well. They recommended Rawhide Outfitters which took us for a really fun horseback riding adventure. I highly reccomend you come and stay here! Whether you are young or old, there is something for ALL ages. The property is extremely well maintained and sparkling clean. We will definitely be back agian!!!

Selway M. said…

Sep 3, 2016

For an awesome experience in ID Mts, stay here!

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Aug 30, 2016

This was our third stay at this lodge, right on the lake and it was totally enjoyable. In addition to the delightful outdoor shower, the very congenial hosts have added a modern shower inside and have completely redone the fireplace in river rock motif. It is really beautiful. The deck is spacious and well equipped and the beach area and fire pit are equally awesome . A friend said, “This is the best property on the lake” and I agree! The property is clean and well maintained. I highly recommend!

Lisa B. said…

Sep 2, 2016

Everything we hoped for!

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Aug 26, 2016

This is a beautiful and secluded getaway cabin on a pristine lake. We loved the combination of rustic cabin with updates. It was very comfortable. The view is magnificent, the outdoor “hang out” spaces are great, and we really appreciated having access to the canoe, kayaks and row boat. We used every space that was available to us and enjoyed ourselves immensely.

Debbie M. said…

Aug 29, 2016

FAVORITE place for a family vacation!

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Aug 23, 2016

This was our 2nd trip back and we loved it even more than the 1st. We have two sons age 10 and 7, and the original trip they were ages 8 and 5. We love that there is a beautiful space for family connection, boats to kayak and canoe, comfortable furniture, and the most gorgeous view you can imagine. If the drive were not 16 hours from home we would come back several times a summer!!! Highly recommend.

Gabriela E. said…

Aug 18, 2016

Simply amazing!!

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Aug 13, 2016

This is just the best kept secret…. This house and the place its so amazing… I wish I could give more than 5 stars.. Roberta and Tom so friendly and caring…I can’t wait to come back next year!!! If you are looking for a piece of heaven n earth… Don’t look anymore… You just found it!! …. Gabriela

Anna S. said…

Aug 20, 2016

Absolutely perfect getaway!

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Aug 9, 2016

This is the second time we have stayed at the Jumping Trout Lodge and we have loved it each time we have been there. The shower remodel that Roberta and Tom did was wonderful and the shower pressure was great! We had a blast using the newly added water toys (additional kayaks and paddle board). It is always great being able to get away and unplugging from the world. When it was time to head home we were so not ready to return to the real world. Roberta and Tom have created a wonderful place to get away from it all. Thank you for the amazing memories and we can’t wait to see the kitchen remodel in 2017!

Toni S. said…

Aug 15, 2016

Loved this cabin on the lake!

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Aug 1, 2016

Our family had a wonderful time at this cabin. The cabin is well maintained, clean, and comfortable with tons of outdoor seating. We really enjoyed kayaking and canoeing on the lake with our kids.

Joe and Cindy O. said…

Jul 29, 2016

Beautiful, relaxing, and cool. Good fishing!

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Jul 19, 2016

It is a great place for a vacation. It was perfect. We caught fish, relaxed, and enjoyed the most beautiful views of the mountains and nature. The Thompson’s are gracious hosts and do all in their power to make your stay enjoyable. We plan on returning for a third trip.

Amy P. said…

Aug 2, 2016

Our stay at the Jumping Trout Lodge was AWESOME!!

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Jul 8, 2016

Our stay was great!! We enjoyed everything about this lodge! We would recommend it to anyone. The balcony with the fire pit was very relaxing and beautiful, along with the private dock..great for fishing and shore-side fire pit..great for making s’mores. We enjoyed the use of the paddle board, kayaks, and fishing boat. Amazing views!! A great getaway!! We will definitely be back!!

Leslie H. said…

Jul 28, 2016

We will be back!

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Jul 6, 2016

We arrived at the property near dark but we’re able to find it easily. Our family was thrilled to find the perfect little cabin waiting for us! Inside the cabin, the beds were comfy and we had plenty of space. The kitchen will be updated this fall I think, but still had all the amenities we needed or wanted. Everything was clean and perfect for or family. Then moving to the outside… Perfect!!! The owners have thought of everything to make the cabin comfortable and fun. From boats and paddle board, to a horseshoe pit, to a beautiful deck and view, to a perfect and useful outdoor shower, and my favorite– a sandy beach area that just makes it feel like a luxurious little spot to sit and enjoy the lake. We will be back! The owners were very kind as well. Looking forward to our next visit to Williams Lake.

Family Trips said…

Jul 11, 2016

Beautiful

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Jun 29, 2016

Our stay at Jumping Trout Lodge was magical. The Thompsons were very helpful and friendly. They have made so many upgrades and improvements to the property. We had amazing weather and spent every spare moment on or in the water. Our family enjoyed the canoe, drift boat, paddle board, and kayaks, which allowed our group of 8 to all be on the water together. Everyone enjoyed the outdoor shower, the fire pit, and relaxing on the dock. Many hours were spent relaxing on the very comfortable furniture on the upper deck. We enjoyed watching others on their boats, and several of our group enjoyed catching their wake on the kayaks. The beds were very comfortable and the cabin was cute and clean. We all look forward to visiting this gem in the mountains again. Thank you for everything Tom & Roberta!

jeff b. said…

Jul 7, 2016

Amazing Family Vacation!

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Jun 24, 2016

Our stay at Jumping Trout Lake was the perfect vacation with our three daughters. From mornings enjoying coffee on the dock taking in the pristine view with my husband, to playing in the water all day with our girls, this was one of the most beautiful and relaxing vacations we have taken. Suppers on the deck, s’mores around the fire pit, and playing horseshoes in the yard kept our family busy and made for great memories. Not having cell service or TV gave our family lots of time to talk, laugh and simply enjoy one another. The cabin was clean and had many updates that we enjoyed. Taking our own linens was a little inconvenient as we flew in to Salt Lake for the start of our trip, but my understanding is that the home owners will be adding a washer and dryer soon and will supply these then. The lake was beautiful! We also enjoyed white water rafting in Salmon and everyone we met was so friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this cabin for your next vacation and hope my family can return again! Thank you Tom and Roberta!!

Kenneth K. said…

May 22, 2016

Wild West Fun

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay May 7, 2016

My wife and I took a 2 week western vacation visiting 5 National Parks. We heard about the Jumping Trout Lodge from some dear friends. We thought we might check it out, and stayed for 3 days. What a great time we had. Although the weather was on the cool/cold side, we still had a great time. The owners were quite accommodating, even taking us on a walk of the community. Unfortunately we were not able to take advantage of the kayaks, and other watercraft that comes with the rental. The A frame lodge was very roomy and can sleep 10. It was appointed with nice leather seating, and had a large wooden table and chair similar to what we saw at the Yellowstone Lodge. The surrounding area of Salmon had plenty of things to offer. We went to a local Hot Springs for a soak. Great fun! The Salmon area is also rich in history. The area is the birth place of Sacagawea who help explorers Lewis and Clark. There is a nice walking tour park in the town of Salmon that is worth seeing. Over all we had a wonderful time. I highly recommend this property is you are looking for a beautiful, serene, restful getaway. Two thumbs up!!!!

Anonymous said…

Sep 7, 2015

Perfect Vacation Location!

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Aug 15, 2015

From the first communication to the property owners of this home to our end of trip thank you, these folks exemplified customer service and friendliness. The home is exactly as advertised, plus! It has every amenity to make a vacation stay relaxing, fun, and comfortable- water craft to fit every style, an outdoor gallery of furniture for relaxing and enjoying the beauty of the scenery or just enjoying a book or nap(!), an interior that is as stunning as it is functional.The area is gorgeous, and the home sits far enough into the mountain to make trips out a real adventure. (pay attention to the caution to drive in during daylight hours). Quiet, serene, peaceful, beautiful scenery and wildlife. This was a true vacation home and location. The locals are wonderfully friendly. The blue book (information binder) with area attractions was spot on- white water rafting and a trip to the hot springs were truly memorable. The wildlife, Deer, Sheep, Bald Eagles and fishing were spectacular. What a great trip. We have already recommended this to others.

Anonymous said…

Aug 19, 2015

Beautiful cabin on the lake

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Jul 30, 2015

Helpful votes: 0/0

This is my second time back at the cabin, I love it. The addition of the fire pit, right next to the lake, is awesome for roasting marsh mellows and singing campfire songs.My grandchildren and I had so much fun using the 2 kayaks, row boat, canoe, and body board. The newly expanded deck is great. We will be back again and again!

Linda T. said…

Aug 13, 2015

One of the best places we stayed on our trip.

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Jul 22, 2015

We enjoyed the very scenic view of the lake from the house and spacious deck. The setting was unique, beautiful and interesting. Our hosts were friendly and helpful; we enjoyed talking to them. The kayaks were a were a real plus. We had lots of fun kayaking on the lake. The home was comfortable and provided everything we needed with the exception of linens.

Selway M. said…

Jul 27, 2015

Enjoy Staying at the Jumping Trout Lodge

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Jul 9, 2015

This is an outstanding vacation lodge located at Williams Lake above Salmon, Idaho. The refurbished but quaint cabin will sleep 10 people and there is plenty of room for lounging. The dock and beach area are spectacular, with built in fire pit for doing s’mores and the outdoor shower is really nice and much appreciated. The cabin comes with two kayaks, a rowboat, and a paddle board, and a canoe. Your hosts are very congenial and helpful to assure that you have a great time!

David B. said…

Jul 7, 2015

great place

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Jun 26, 2015

Wonderful place – well-run and we had a great time!

Chris S. said…

Oct 3, 2014

I’ll be back!

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Sep 21, 2014

All I can say is wow! And that is about everything. The view, the lodge and the tranquility. Thanks Tom for and Roberta for creating this haven. Your attention to detail shows.

Anonymous said…

Sep 24, 2014

Idaho’s best kept secret!

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Sep 12, 2014

This property is one of Idaho’s best kept secrets. It is extremely well maintained and clean. Tom and Roberta are a joy to work with. For those who love the mountains and the activities that they provide, you could not find a better place to get away from it all.

Anna S. said…

Sep 4, 2014

Relaxing Getaway

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Aug 28, 2014

We had such a wonderful time at this beautiful home. We loved being out on the lake every day and the kids had so much fun just spending one-on-one time with us. This trip was the first time in four years where I have been able to relax and not worry about work being able to contact me. The lack of cell service and internet was definitely a bonus on this trip. The beds were fantastic and everyone slept wonderfully. I truly was sad to leave this morning. I found more peace and serenity over the past weekend than I have in the last three vacations I have taken. Tom was such a helpful and gracious host. We appreciate the time he took to show us how to start the gas fire pit. We will definitely be back when I am in need of peace and quiet again.

Helen L. said…

Sep 1, 2014

A beautifully appointed, comfortable “cabin”

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Jul 18, 2014

It’s hard to find a nicer place than the Jumping Trout Lodge. It is beautiful inside and out – and has everything within it that you need. The cabin is on the lake, with a ramp leading to a boat dock, which is perfect for enjoying an evening on Adirondack chairs near the water. Tommy and Roberta are the BEST owners, as they keep the home updated, and they are very gracious and friendly. We were there last year, and as we returned this year we noted the new roof, new siding, new doors and even new landscaping on the lower lot. There is a sand area immediately in front of the house if you’d like to play volleyball and two lounges if you’d prefer to sit on the “beach.” They provide a canoe, two kayaks and a little fishing boat, plus life jackets. Tommy set a string of small white lights on the lot they own immediately to the east down by the fire pit, and provided wood for a fire there. Also, the large deck has a table/chair set with a propane flame, a double hammock, a picnic table and a lounge chair. There is nothing missing in this cabin except a television … and that is a good thing! It’s a perfect place to read, relax and enjoy the beauty of Williams Lake. Though I was timid about the outside shower, it is terrific. We have a large shower at home, and as we left my husband said he wanted to take the shower with him. It’s totally private, of course, but also is large enough to bring your change of clothes with you and dress before you step back out of it. This lodge is really quite nice, and it is without doubt the best vacation we’ve ever taken because it’s quiet enough to relax and enjoy and not be troubled with traffic or street lights or convenience stores. If there were more stars than five, that is how we’d rate it. You cannot go wrong by choosing the Jumping Trout Lodge.

Bob R. said…

Jul 20, 2014

Wonderful cabin in the mountains.

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Jul 12, 2014

5 of us stayed 6 nights at Jumping Trout Lodge at Williams Lake, Idaho. We had a wonderful time. The water was comfortable and the weather nice. A couple of short thundershowers made it all the better. Accommodations were super with 4 beds in the loft and one bedroom downstairs. A note of caution however that the spiral stairs to the loft are not passable to handicapped persons. But that made it more fun for us. Even saw deer grazing next to the cabin, and the oven was a lifesaver.

 

d p. said…

Jul 7, 2014

Perfect Hideaway!

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Jul 2, 2014

We had a fantastic time at Jumping Trout Lodge. The cabin and lake are even better than in the pictures! There were 5 of us, myself, my husband and our 3 boys, ages 16, 14, and 11. The boys had a fantastic time fishing, kayaking and wake boarding. It was the perfect place for our youngest to learn how to wake board. There is a lake side fire pit to roast marshmellows and watch the fish jump. Super comfortable beds, extremely clean, super nice owners, calm lake, beautiful scenery! Very well kept property. Can’t wait to come again!

Chad L. said…

Jun 20, 2014

Jumpin’ Trout Lodge, Williams Lake

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Jun 13, 2014

This is a very nice and quiet cabin on a beautiful lake. The scenery is wonderful and the cabin’s owners are super nice. We stayed for 6 days and did not want to come home yet. This was a very relaxing 6 days, Thank you for letting us stay at your “Jumpin’ Trout lodge”.

Lisa C. said…

Jun 16, 2014

Beautiful setting and cabin

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Jun 9, 2014

This was our second trip to Williams Lake and as always, it was a wonderful time. Tom and Roberta are gracious, accommodating, helpful hosts. We appreciated the fresh lilacs in the cabin on our arrival, and the chalkboard welcome message on the refrigerator. Tom was also kind enough to bring down some firewood so we could make s’mores with the kids while we were there. The cabin is clean and well-maintained; and the new siding, roof and windows are beautiful. We loved the fishing, the abundant wildlife and the chance to hike and explore. Thank you for providing such a beautiful setting to relax and unwind in, Tom and Roberta–we appreciate you!

Anonymous said…

Jul 24, 2014

Excellent cabin, beautiful location

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay

Jun 4, 2014

We used this cabin for a 2 day business meeting and it is excellent for this purpose or a corporate retreat. Of course, it is also a wonderful place for a vacation getaway. The fishing is usually pretty hot the first part of June for large, wild rainbows. Very clean with many upgrades and a fabulous deck and swim dock. Tom and Roberta are very accommodating. Highly recommended!

Janice F. said…

Aug 15, 2013

Remote Mountain Lake A-frame

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Jul 31, 2013

The view from this beautiful A-frame cabin was breathtaking. We enjoyed relaxing on the deck, canoeing around the lake, sitting by the fire pit at night and viewing the stars from the hammock. The cabin was well equipped and the outdoor shower was fun. Since this rental was not inexpensive and there were only two of us, we felt that bed sheets and towels should have been provided by the homeowners. We also would recommend a 4-wheel drive vehicle for an easier drive on the unpaved mountain road to this remote, yet beautiful location.

Anonymous said…

Aug 15, 2013

EXCELLENT FISHING AND VERY RELAXING!

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Jul 24, 2013

We had a family reunion and so we rented the Jumping Trout cabin and the smaller Honeymoon cabin. Both were very clean and well equipped. We spent most of our time enjoying the beautiful, spacious deck of the Jumping Trout cabin and spending time in the watercraft. We caught so many trout off the dock that we had two dinners while we were there and enough left over for another meal after we got home. We met a man who was staying across the lake and he hadn’t caught any fish so I guess they just like the side of the lake where the cabin is! Roberta was great to work with when making the reservations and Tom came to welcome us and see if we needed anything during our stay. Thank you both! These cabins were great places for relaxing and socializing with friends and relatives. There were other people using the lake while we were there but noise was never a problem. We hope to get back there soon! I would definitely recommend either of these cabins as great places to stay.

Lisa M. said…

Jul 18, 2013

Great Vacation – Beautiful Cabin

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Jul 6, 2013

We had a great time, The cabin is very nice. The pictures do not do it justice.Plenty of room for our party of 10 which included 5 kids who always had something fun to do. The boats are a bonus and they spent hours swimming and jumping from the dock. Tom and Roberta both came down to say hi and see is we needed anything-very nice people. Can wait to go back.

Anonymous said…

Jul 18, 2013

Lovely cabin in a peaceful setting

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Jun 15, 2013

We spent half a week in this adorable cabin in June and were most pleased. The owners were very accommodating and easy to work with. The cabin is charming and well equipped for a family vacation. We hiked, fished and kayaked on the lake and also enjoyed trips to nearby Lehmi Pass and the town of Salmon, ID. Our only complaint was minor – the rowboat oars are different lengths, making it difficult to use. The area is gorgeous, the lake is beautiful and the cabin is a home run. We’d recommend it highly for those looking to get off the grid and out in nature.

Anonymous said…

Jun 19, 2013

Scenic, well-managed property.

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Jun 2, 2013

The property was clean, well-maintained and we would recommend it to our friends and relatives. We enjoyed fishing from the boats and relaxing on the deck and dock.

Peggy A. said…

Sep 27, 2012

A Great Family Spot!

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Sep 13, 2012

What a wonderful spot. The pictures didn’t do it justice. A beautiful lake surrounded by gorgeous mountains and a cabin that was plenty big enough for our group of 5 adults and 2 children.We really loved the deck with the great fire feature. The kayaks and canoes were great and were used every day. It was well worth the trip from Missouri, Helena and Boise. We have rented many houses from Home Away and have never been disappointed. What you see is what you get …and more!!!!!

Anonymous said…

Sep 14, 2012

Serenity and Beauty

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Aug 31, 2012

This cabin is a hidden treasure on a remote lake southwest of Salmon. The owners are warm, inviting, and obviously care about maintaining the aesthetics of this property. We loved the large deck, sitting on the dock fishing, and trolling around on the lake in the boat and kayaks. The views are beautiful and the lake is nice and clean. We were there on Labor Day and expected noise and lake traffic but there was hardly none. Only negative was the air quality due to forest fires surrounding the region. Definitely a place to visit again. The drive from the highway is on a mountainous dirt road and can be intimidating. The roads are not marked but the owner furnishes directions, which I advise reading before the drive.

Anonymous said…

Sep 2, 2012

Peaceful Getaway

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Aug 19, 2012

We were pleased by how peaceful it was on Williams Lake. Sound travels across the water, and we overheard a brief argument from across the lake soon after arrival. But there was no loud stereo blaring, no dogs barking (although we heard one bark), no engines racing, just mountain solitude. When you wake up in the morning, the air is cool and crisp, and the rising sun reflects off the tall mountain that you see directly in front of the cabin. The water was warm enough in August to enjoy a swim, and cold enough to shelter trout at about 20 feet under. This was a wonderful place to relax and get away from it all. We photographed a doe grazing just 15 feet from the cabin on the last morning of our stay. It was that quiet.

Anne D. said…

Aug 27, 2012

Family Break with Teens

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Aug 11, 2012

What a wonderful cabin. So well cared for and comfortable inside, and great lounging outside on spacious deck. Fishing in the canoe, hiking right outside the door. A real get-away. Roberta and Tom are charming and helpful with anything you have questions about. Plenty of room for family of four with two teenage boys and golden retriever.

Chris C. said…

Aug 20, 2012

What a wonderful place!

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Aug 10, 2012

We chose this cabin for our first ever family vacation with just my hubby, our 2 year old daughter and I. And it was wonderful! We had an amazing time fishing from the dock, paddling out in the row boat and playing on the kayaks. We also enjoyed driving into town and looking at all the historical sites and centers. One of our favorite adventures was hiking up to GoldBug hot springs. The view was amazing and well worth the hike, my little family didn’t want to leave. Roberta and Tom were so friendly and answered all of our questions. I would recommend this place to anyone who would like a relzxing, carefree vacation…but watch out those huge trout will steal your fishing pole if you set it down :). The Buss Family, Meridian ID

Tom N Larae A. said…

Jul 11, 2012

Great Vacation

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Jun 27, 2012

Our grandkids were so very excited when we drove up to the cabin and they saw the beautiful lake with the kayaks and canoe on the beach. They could hardly wait to get into them and out on the water. This was just the beginning of a wonderful couple of days. We all loved it – the cabin was beautiful, especially the comfortable and beautiful deck! The lake is lovely, and everyone had a grand time and would love to come back. The cabin was very clean and well-maintained, and the owner was very helpful. It is only about 15 miles outside of Salmon, Idaho, and we would highly recommend this cabin to anyone who likes a mountain retreat.

Susan K. said…

Jul 12, 2012

Unforgettable

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Jun 22, 2012

This was a wonderful vacation. It is everything it looks to be in the pictures. We had a wonderful family reunion and there was something for everyone to do. It feels very private although there are cabins and houses around the lake. We enjoyed the beautiful deck and canoeing on the lake. You can fish from the dock, hike, or just relax in the peace and quiet. Roberta and Tom are great hosts and very helpful. We would love to do it again. Susan Kibler and family

Brendan T. said…

Aug 9, 2012

A-Frame Lakeside Cabin

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Jun 10, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Jumping Trout Lodge this past June. Great Views. The cabin was clean and comfortable. Cooking the trout from the lake was easy in the cabin kitchen. The provided canoes, kayaks and rowboat were a convenient way to enjoy the lake. Rafting down the Salmon River and bathing in the nearby Goldbug Hot springs are can’t miss activities.

William P. said…

Jun 28, 2012

Peaceful Family getaway

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Jun 6, 2012

We take a lot of trips as a family, but this was our first REAL getaway ever as a family. This was the trip of a lifetime and our boys (8 and 13) will remember this forever. Such a Great place and such an enjoyable time. The Thompsons were so helpful and accomodating and the place was just perfect… White water rafting one day, Goldbug Hot springs hike one day and a couple of days just enjoying the unbeleivable views from the cabin. Thanks again for making things so wonderful and we definately hope to return. On our day long trip we were hoping it was going to be worth it. On the trip home, we were wishing we had made plans to stay a few more days. Take care and God Bless William Porter

Barbara R. said…

Aug 7, 2012

Heaven on Earth

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay May 6, 2012

Date: May 2012 Jumping Trout Lodge was the ideal place our our girls getaway-sorority sisters reunion. The lakeside setting with the majestic mountains surrounding the lake was the perfect setting for renewing our friendships. The cabin was beautifully decorated, well maintained, and super clean. Tom and Roberta were attentive hosts and made sure we had everything we needed. I highly recommend this cabin as it was a great experience. We are already planning our next reunion here!

D R. said…

Oct 23, 2011

Awesome…already booked 2012 dates!

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Aug 20, 2011

This was our first trip to the Salmon area. From the time we left Twin Falls and headed north on I-93 it felt like we stepped back in time. The terrain is diverse and amazing, within a 2-hour drive of Salmon we traced American history, followed Lewis and Clark’s expedition, witnessed dormant volcanic activity at Craters of the Moon, soaked in mineral springs, and explored downtown Salmon’s local galleries, shops and restaurants. The lakefront cabin was fully outfitted to meet all our needs and they happily opened their arms to our two dogs. Waking up each morning and looking out the vast windows across the lake to the rocky mountain terrain was such a treat! Boating on the lake is so tranquil; it felt like our own private space. No need to drive anywhere to hike, everything was accessible from our front door. In the afternoon it was just a few steps away to sit on the dock and share a glass of wine and conversation. The location is so serene, the cabin was completely comfy and the owners were totally accommodating to each and every request. The photos posted are just a hint of what you’ll experience. With only 70 cabins on a huge lake, this is the perfect place to turn the world off for a while and invest time in those you love. We’re coming back!!!

Great Place!

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Jul 15, 2011

The house is really good and extremely pleasant. Kind of small but comfortably slept 5 men in separate beds. Huge picture window and nice deck overlooking Williams Lake. The location is incredible–awesome views; you feel like you’re truly in the middle of nowhere. The dock and lake are great, especially with canoes, kayaks, and rowboat provided by the owner. Drive to town is 15 miles-the first five are very very slow due to dirt road and precipices. The listing description is accurate, the property was very clean and wel maintained. Roberta and Tom provided excellent customer service and were very affable. I would definitely recommend this property to a friend or relative.

Beth E. said…

Jul 3, 2011

Photo Club!

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay May 20, 2011

I have had the privilege of spending some time at this wonderful place two years in a row as part of The River of No Return Photo Club! It is such a beautiful place and so quiet! Waking up to the calmness and sunrise of the lake was so peaceful. I have gotten some beautiful shots there and even won a Reserve Champion of one my pictures from my stay last year. Thank you so much for letting our club stay there!

Nick said…

Jun 2, 2011

Serenity, Activity, Comfort, and Pure Fun!

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay May 19, 2011

My wife and 2 members form our photo club here in Salmon, ID spent 3 days and two nights at this immaculate hideaway A-Frame cabin that overlooks a beautiful lake from the deck of the cabin. If one awakens early, they get to see the glass-like lake reflecting the rustic mountain across the lake, hear the loons, ducks and geese communicating to each other. We happened to be there in the Spring to see the geese with their gosling’s. There are numerous photo-ops in this gorgeous setting of nature. We saw the early morning sunrises, and enjoyed the canoe and boat rides in the evening. Fishing is excellent. Thank you for the wonderful time. Nick & Carla

Tom and Lo Sharris said…

Nov 9, 2011

Absolutely Stunning

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Sep 18, 2010

We traveled over 4,000 miles, and the highlight of our journey was the three days we spent on Williams Lake in Idaho. We will treasure the memory of the peace and tranquility we experienced, and the awe inspired by the natural beauty of the place. Our enjoyment was heightened by the comfortable cabin, with its amazing views. Everything we needed to meet our needs and comfort was readily available. The kitchen was well-stocked for cooking. The beds were warm and comfortable. The rustic decor created a “back to the earth” romanticism and an ambiance appropriate for a lakeside cottage in the woods. We felt completely alone in nature, except when we were entertained by three beautiful Irish Setters frolicking in the lake. We never saw their humans.The area is steeped in history, and upon our return home we read everything we could find about the Lewis and Clark expedition and the lives of the early settlers along the Salmon River. We enjoyed visiting the Lemhi County Historical Museum in Salmon, where the people were so friendly and helpful. Everywhere we went, the people were amazingly friendly, especially Tom and Roberta, who went out of their way to answer our questions about the area. They helped us find information about the location on the Salmon River where an early family member homesteaded and mined for treasure at the beginning of the 20th century. We found that his place on the river is still named for him, and we were able to drive as far downriver as the road could take us. At the end of the road, another friendly Idahoan boated us across the river to his place, and walked around with us exploring what used to be his homestead. We found remnants of his existence there…..another memory-making experience.Thanks, Roberta and Tom, for making your little bit of “Heaven-on-Earth” available for others to experience and for sharing it with us. I would return in a heartbeat and would highly recommend the cabin to anyone wishing to get away from the artificial glitz and glamour, hustle and bustle of city life and experience a renewal of an awareness of the natural beauty of our country, and the peace and tranquility therein.

 

Traci B. said…

Sep 16, 2011

Nature lovers dream cabin!

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Sep 15, 2010

We stayed in this cabin while in town for the Salmon Marathon and it was so relaxing and lovely. We had a 2 yr old baby with us so had to be cautious with the spiral staircase and when out on the deck but Roberta had warned us about that prior to reserving the cabin. The views of the lake and mountains from the large windows and from the deck are amazing. The cabin and pictures are true to the pictures posted. I didn’t find the driveway to be difficult at all as one other reviewer posted. We loved the canoes and kayaks and even paddled out to the huge rock in the middle of the lake and our 3 adventurous men took the huge plunge into the cold lake. A thrilling 30 – 40 foot drop!. The lake feels remote, and you can hike the mountains that surround the lake. It took us about a 15 minute drive to get into the town of Salmon. My one suggestion is that it seemed like the cabin could use a really good deep clean mainly becasue the amount of spiders and webs in the cabin. We mentioned this to Roberta and Tom so it has probably been taken care of. Williams lake seems like a hidden Gem in the mountains of Idaho. For an affordable cabin this one is perfect for a very memorable mountain vacation.

Suzette said…

Feb 16, 2011

Wonderful Cabin!

39 South Shoreline Dr., Salmon, ID, 83467, United States

Date of Stay Jul 16, 2010

My husband and I and the kids spent 3 days at this cabin on Williams Lake. We had a wonderful time!! The view from the deck and living room are wonderful! The kids loved the kayaks and row boat. Thank you so much for sharing your cabin with us. It is a wonderful place to relax.

Great Vacation – Beautiful Cabin

Lisa M.

We had a great time, The cabin is very nice. The pictures do not do it justice.Plenty of room for our party of 10 which included 5 kids who always had something fun to do. The boats are a bonus and they spent hours swimming and jumping from the dock. Tom and Roberta both came down to say hi and see is we needed anything-very nice people. Can wait to go back.
Owner’s Response: Thank you so much,Lisa, for your kind words. We are so glad your family enjoyed the boats and the dock. It is great having a waterfront property so that the lake can be enjoyed throughout the stay. We look forward to your future visit. Roberta and Tom
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Scenic, well-managed property.

What a wonderful place!
Chris C. Meridian ID

We chose this cabin for our first ever family vacation with just my hubby, our 2 year old daughter and I. And it was wonderful! We had an amazing time fishing from the dock, paddling out in the row boat and playing on the kayaks. We also enjoyed driving into town and looking at all the historical sites and centers. One of our favorite adventures was hiking up to GoldBug hot springs. The view was amazing and well worth the hike, my little family didn’t want to leave. Roberta and Tom were so friendly and answered all of our questions. I would recommend this place to anyone who would like a relaxing, carefree vacation…but watch out those huge trout will steal your fishing pole if you set it down.

Heaven on Earth
Barbara R.

Jumping Trout Lodge was the ideal place our our girls getaway-sorority sisters reunion. The lakeside setting with the majestic mountains surrounding the lake was the perfect setting for renewing our friendships. The cabin was beautifully decorated, well maintained, and super clean. Tom and Roberta were attentive hosts and made sure we had everything we needed. I highly recommend this cabin as it was a great experience. We are already planning our next reunion here!

Great Vacation
Nevadans Las Vegas, NV

We spent 9 great days at the cabin. It was peaceful, relaxing and the fishing was great. My wife caught a 22″ rainbow trout, and we got over 20 others. The lake was like glass most days, and almost exclusively ours. It is a private lake and the neighbors are really nice people. The best part of the trip was the serenity. The hospitality of our hosts was a real plus. We highly recommend it to anyone.

The Nevadans recommended Jumping Trout Lodge stay for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

A Great Family Spot!
Peggy A.

What a wonderful spot. The pictures didn’t do it justice. A beautiful lake surrounded by gorgeous mountains and a cabin that was plenty big enough for our group of 5 adults and 2 children.We really loved the deck with the great fire feature. The kayaks and canoes were great and were used every day. It was well worth the trip from Missouri, Helena and Boise. What you see is what you get …and more!!!!!

Serenity and Beauty
Clufster Ogden, UT

This cabin is a hidden treasure on a remote lake southwest of Salmon. The owners are warm, inviting, and obviously care about maintaining the aesthetics of this property. We loved the large deck, sitting on the dock fishing, and trolling around on the lake in the boat and kayaks. The views are beautiful and the lake is nice and clean. We were there on Labor Day and expected noise and lake traffic but there was hardly none. Only negative was the air quality due to forest fires surrounding the region. Definitely a place to visit again.
The drive from the highway is on a mountainous dirt road and can be intimidating. The roads are not marked but the owner furnishes directions, which I advise reading before the drive.

Peaceful Getaway
Lee Pocatello, Idaho

We were pleased by how peaceful it was on Williams Lake. Sound travels across the water, and we overheard a brief argument from across the lake soon after arrival. But there was no loud stereo blaring, no dogs barking (although we heard one bark), no engines racing, just mountain solitude. When you wake up in the morning, the air is cool and crisp, and the rising sun reflects off the tall mountain that you see directly in front of the cabin. The water was warm enough in August to enjoy a swim, and cold enough to shelter trout at about 20 feet under. This was a wonderful place to relax and get away from it all. We photographed a doe grazing just 15 feet from the cabin on the last morning of our stay. It was that quiet.

Family Break with Teens
Anne D.

What a wonderful cabin. So well cared for and comfortable inside, and great lounging outside on spacious deck. Fishing in the canoe, hiking right outside the door. A real get-away. Roberta and Tom are charming and helpful with anything you have questions about. Plenty of room for family of four with two teenage boys and golden retriever.

A-Frame Lakeside Cabin
Brendan T.

I had the pleasure of staying at the Jumping Trout Lodge this past June. Great Views. The cabin was clean and comfortable. Cooking the trout from the lake was easy in the cabin kitchen. The provided canoes, kayaks and rowboat were a convenient way to enjoy the lake. Rafting down the Salmon River and bathing in the nearby Goldbug Hot springs are can’t miss activities.

Unforgettable
Susan K. and family

This was a wonderful vacation. It is everything it looks to be in the pictures. We had a wonderful family reunion and there was something for everyone to do. It feels very private although there are cabins and houses around the lake. We enjoyed the beautiful deck and canoeing on the lake. You can fish from the dock, hike, or just relax in the peace and quiet. Roberta and Tom are great hosts and very helpful. We would love to do it again.

Great Vacation
Tom N Larae A

Our grandkids were so very excited when we drove up to the cabin and they saw the beautiful lake with the kayaks and canoe on the beach. They could hardly wait to get into them and out on the water. This was just the beginning of a wonderful couple of days. We all loved it – the cabin was beautiful, especially the comfortable and beautiful deck! The lake is lovely, and everyone had a grand time and would love to come back. The cabin was very clean and well-maintained, and the owner was very helpful. It is only about 15 miles outside of Salmon, Idaho, and we would highly recommend this cabin to anyone who likes a mountain retreat.

Peaceful Family getaway
William P. St. Augustine Fl

We take a lot of trips as a family, but this was our first REAL getaway ever as a family. This was the trip of a lifetime and our boys (8 and 13) will remember this forever. Such a Great place and such an enjoyable time. The Thompson’s were so helpful and accommodating and the place was just perfect… White water rafting one day, Goldbug Hot springs hike one day and a couple of days just enjoying the unbelievable views from the cabin.

Thanks again for making things so wonderful and we definitely hope to return. On our day long trip we were hoping it was going to be worth it. On the trip home, we were wishing we had made plans to stay a few more days.

Take care and God Bless

Absolutely Stunning
Tom and Lo Sharris Temple, Texas

We traveled over 4,000 miles, and the highlight of our journey was the three days we spent on Williams Lake in Idaho. We will treasure the memory of the peace and tranquility we experienced, and the awe inspired by the natural beauty of the place. Our enjoyment was heightened by the comfortable cabin, with its amazing views. Everything we needed to meet our needs and comfort was readily available. The kitchen was well-stocked for cooking. The beds were warm and comfortable. The rustic decor created a “back to the earth” romanticism and an ambiance appropriate for a lakeside cottage in the woods. We felt completely alone in nature, except when we were entertained by three beautiful Irish Setters frolicking in the lake. We never saw their humans.The area is steeped in history, and upon our return home we read everything we could find about the Lewis and Clark expedition and the lives of the early settlers along the Salmon River. We enjoyed visiting the Lemhi County Historical Museum in Salmon, where the people were so friendly and helpful. Everywhere we went, the people were amazingly friendly, especially Tom and Roberta, who went out of their way to answer our questions about the area. They helped us find information about the location on the Salmon River where an early family member homesteaded and mined for treasure at the beginning of the 20th century. We found that his place on the river is still named for him, and we were able to drive as far downriver as the road could take us. At the end of the road, another friendly Idahoan boated us across the river to his place, and walked around with us exploring what used to be his homestead. We found remnants of his existence there…..another memory-making experience.Thanks, Roberta and Tom, for making your little bit of “Heaven-on-Earth” available for others to experience and for sharing it with us. I would return in a heartbeat and would highly recommend the cabin to anyone wishing to get away from the artificial glitz and glamour, hustle and bustle of city life and experience a renewal of an awareness of the natural beauty of our country, and the peace and tranquility therein.

The temples recommended our Idaho vacation rentals for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway

Awesome…already booked 2012 dates!
D.R.

This was our first trip to the Salmon area. From the time we left Twin Falls and headed north on I-93 it felt like we stepped back in time. The terrain is diverse and amazing, within a 2-hour drive of Salmon we traced American history, followed Lewis and Clark’s expedition, witnessed dormant volcanic activity at Craters of the Moon, soaked in mineral springs, and explored downtown Salmon’s local galleries, shops and restaurants.

The lakefront cabin was fully outfitted to meet all our needs and they happily opened their arms to our two dogs. Waking up each morning and looking out the vast windows across the lake to the rocky mountain terrain was such a treat! Boating on the lake is so tranquil; it felt like our own private space. No need to drive anywhere to hike, everything was accessible from our front door. In the afternoon it was just a few steps away to sit on the dock and share a glass of wine and conversation.

The location is so serene, the cabin was completely comfy and the owners were totally accommodating to each and every request. The photos posted are just a hint of what you’ll experience. With only 70 cabins on a huge lake, this is the perfect place to turn the world off for a while and invest time in those you love.

We’re coming back!!!

Nature lovers dream cabin!
mtngirlforever Bend Oregon

We stayed in this cabin while in town for the Salmon Marathon and it was so relaxing and lovely. We had a 2 yr old baby with us so had to be cautious with the spiral staircase and when out on the deck but Roberta had warned us about that prior to reserving the cabin. The views of the lake and mountains from the large windows and from the deck are amazing. The cabin and pictures are true to the pictures posted. I didn’t find the driveway to be difficult at all as one other reviewer posted. We loved the canoes and kayaks and even paddled out to the huge rock in the middle of the lake and our 3 adventurous men took the huge plunge into the cold lake. A thrilling 30 – 40 foot drop!. The lake feels remote, and you can hike the mountains that surround the lake. It took us about a 15 minute drive to get into the town of Salmon. My one suggestion is that it seemed like the cabin could use a really good deep clean mainly becasue the amount of spiders and webs in the cabin. We mentioned this to Roberta and Tom so it has probably been taken care of. Williams lake seems like a hidden Gem in the mountains of Idaho. For an affordable cabin this one is perfect for a very memorable mountain vacation.

Our mountain girl forever guests recommended Jumping Trout Lodge rental for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway.

Great Place!
e.m.

The house is really good and extremely pleasant. Kind of small but comfortably slept 5 men in separate beds. Huge picture window and nice deck overlooking Williams Lake. The location is incredible–awesome views; you feel like you’re truly in the middle of nowhere. The dock and lake are great, especially with canoes, kayaks, and rowboat provided by the owner. Drive to town is 15 miles-the first five are very, very slow due to dirt road and precipices. The listing description is accurate, the property was very clean and well maintained. Roberta and Tom provided excellent customer service and were very affable. I would definitely recommend this property to a friend or relative.

Photo Club!
Beth E. Salmon, Idaho

I have had the privilege of spending some time at this wonderful place two years in a row as part of The River of No Return Photo Club! It is such a beautiful place and so quiet! Waking up to the calmness and sunrise of the lake was so peaceful. I have gotten some beautiful shots there and even won a Reserve Champion of one my pictures from my stay last year. Thank you so much for letting our club stay there!

Beth E recommended for our cabin rentals for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Serenity, Activity, Comfort, and Pure Fun!
Nick United States

My wife and 2 members from our photo club here in Salmon, ID spent 3 days and two nights at this immaculate hideaway A-Frame cabin that overlooks a beautiful lake from the deck of the cabin. If one awakens early, they get to see the glass-like lake reflecting the rustic mountain across the lake, hear the loons, ducks and geese communicating to each other. We happened to be there in the Spring to see the geese with their gosling’s. There are numerous photo-ops in this gorgeous setting of nature. We saw the early morning sunrises, and enjoyed the canoe and boat rides in the evening. Fishing is excellent. Thank you for the wonderful time. Nick & Carla

Nick and Carla recommended our cabin rentals in Idaho for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Wonderful Cabin!
Suzette Hazelton Idaho

My husband and I and the kids spent 3 days at this cabin on Williams Lake. We had a wonderful time!! The view from the deck and living room are wonderful! The kids loved the kayaks and row boat. Thank you so much for sharing your cabin with us. It is a wonderful place to relax.

Suzette has recommended our lake front cabin rentals for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

You may click here to read Hide A Way Cabin guest reviews.